Sunday, August 10, 2014

Elements and Qualities of Zodiac Sign Astrology

There are two classifications of the Signs of the Zodiac, Elements (Tatav) and Qualities (Guna)  and they each refer to core human characteristics. These are  the building blocks of life  the solid earth upon which we stand, the running water we use as a resource, the air we breathe and the fire which keeps us warm, and ether which keeps to evolve beyond this world. Life on earth exists because of these four elements. and we also made up of these elements. Every sign and planets have some qualities and elements.

The Four Elements

The four Elements and their corresponding Signs are Fire (Aries, Leo and Sagittarius), Earth (Taurus, Virgo and Capricorn), Air (Gemini, Libra and Aquarius) and Water (Cancer, Scorpio, and Pisces). While the Elements in and of themselves help to describe our basic nature, once combined in our overall astrological chart, they help to define us as a whole and complex person.

The Element of Fire is associated with the Signs Aries, Leo and Sagittarius. They rules the First, Fifth and Ninth Houses. They are enthusiastic and sometimes larger than life.  A Fire Sign is also an indicator of creativity. This Element manifests itself in creative and unique ways, and those in its glow are also wonderfully courageous, lively spirits. Those influenced by a Fire Sign are self-sufficient, spontaneous and possess a tremendous zest for life. Those touched by Fire are often an inspiration to others, certainly for their adherence to solid moral and religious ideals. The negative side of the Element of Fire, it can be overly strident in getting their way, call it ‘’bossy’’ even. These folks can come across rather forcefully, Selfishness and an overdeveloped ego can also be seen as part of a fiery individual's shadowy side. Fire Signs are strong, self-assured, creative, fun and adventurous.

The Element of Earth is associated with the Signs Taurus, Virgo and Capricorn. They rules the Second, Sixth and Tenth Houses. They are building blocks in nature, they are firm, practical, grounded, tangible, solid, and dependable. Whether it's building jobs or homes, or creating comfortable rooms within that home through the acquisition of possessions, These signs aren't taking big risks, much preferring a sure thing. Those influenced by this Element feel best once they have accumulated a goodly number of worldly possessions. The negative side of the element earth is that these signs may become greedy and far too materialistic. The Element of Earth also confers a sense of duty, responsibility and reliability to those in its sphere. These are the people you can count on to be there when you need them. Those influenced by Earth also tend toward caution and conservatism, in both desire and any kind approach in life.

The Element of Air is associated with the Signs Gemini, Libra and Aquarius. They rules the Third, Seventh and Eleventh Houses. Air Signs are communicative, intellectual, clever and fair.  They are intellectual, smart thinkers and handle abstract reasoning well. They are probing and have good analyzing power Air Signs are also about communication.. They are alert, curious and good in getting information. Those influenced by Air are inventive and clever. They see all sides of the equation and are able to understand the best they can. Balance is the key word, So, air sign is often cool, calm and collected and they manifests itself in a most humane way. The negative side of the air sign is that, they can turn cold if their equilibrium is upsets them. Those influenced by Air can truly wear another's shoes, as it were. They are cooperative and really want to help make a better world. There's no good justice power, they are just a bright and idealism and can accomplish much in life.

The Element of Water is associated with the Signs Cancer, Scorpio and Pisces. They rules the Fourth, Eighth and Twelfth Houses. The watery signs are emotional, nurturing, intuitive, sensitive artistic, romantic, and feel more than the rest. They take their actions on feelings or sense, rather than on logic or intellect. Water is also about compassion and understanding, and have receptive talents. Water Sign can take in the feelings of others, process them, and put forth a plan or solution that will be beneficial to all. Water Signs feel most fulfilled when they are helping others, and they do so in an magnetic, considerate and even romantic way. The negative side of the water sign is that, water can become stagnant, they have tendency to hanging over something, susceptible to mood swings, self-indulgent, controlling and hostage to a fantasy world. This also brings the psychic ability to see things more clearly than others. Water Signs are emotional, empathetic, receptive and feel things deeply. Alternately calm like the sea or possessing the force of a torrential rain, the emotions brought forth by this Element are plentiful, indeed.

The three Qualities defined in Astrology are, after the Elements, that defines the nature of the Signs. the Quality describes a person's attitudes in life and the way they approach projects. The three Qualities are Cardinal, Fixed and Mutable.

The Cardinal Signs are Aries, Cancer, Libra and Capricorn. These four Signs are the initiators of the Zodiac. The Cardinal Houses are the First, Fourth, Seventh and Tenth. Their common characteristics include action and drive, they have initiative and strong motivation. On a team level, Cardinal Signs are the sign who come up with ideas and get the project moving, but they are not very good at completion and follow-through.

The Fixed Signs are Taurus, Leo, Scorpio and Aquarius. These four Signs are the sign who complete the things.  The Fixed Houses are Second, Fifth, Eighth and Eleventh. Their common characteristics include determination, persistence, stable and self-reliant. On a team level, Fixed Signs are the people who keep a project going and see it through to the end, but they can also be stubborn and inflexible.

The Mutable Signs are Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius and Pisces. These four Signs are the flexible members of the Zodiac. The Mutable Houses are Third, Sixth, Ninth and Twelfth; their common characteristics include adaptability, changeability they are flexible, happy and versatile. On a team level, Mutable Signs adapt easily to changing conditions, and they don't have a particular agenda. However, they can be inconsistent.

Many people don't realize how important the Elements and Qualities are in Astrology. It's the combination of Elements and Qualities that makes the Signs what they are.

Sign - Quality-  Element

Aries - Cardinal -  Fire                  
Taurus - Fixed - Earth
Gemini -  Mutable -  Air
Cancer- Cardinal - Water

Leo - Fixed - Fire
Virgo - Mutable - Earth
Libra -Cardinal - Air
Scorpio - Fixed - Water

Sagittarius - Mutable - Fire
Capricorn - Cardinal - Earth
Aquarius - Fixed - Air
Pisces - Mutable - Water